Small Victories

I took a shower by myself today, with the door open so my toddlers could come in and out, and it wasn’t terrible!

For the nine months that I had two under two, this was but a dream.  Everything was so hard for so long and no one could be left alone for even a second, but now that my littles are 35 months and 20 months, good times and freedoms are a-comin!

I locked the door to go to the bathroom this morning, with Daniel Tiger babysitting in the living room (thank you PBS!).  I was pretty sure that if I was quick, I was going to have a BM all by myself, with no one screaming about anything, or crying outside, or creeping their little hands under the door and yelling moooooomyyyy to try to get in.  This victory has been a long time coming (credit to Daniel Tiger).

Back to my mid-day shower (oh, the luxury).  I’ve been trying this for some time: securing their room, closing the baby gate, locking all the other doors down the hall, and leaving the bathroom door open so I can hear them and they can come and go as they please.  The goal is to shower more often than twice/week, which is about how often I want to waste my time once the kids are in bed and kitchen cleaned up by taking a shower before I fall into bed at the end of the day.  The first several times I’ve tried this, Wave and Rio both stood outside the shower and pulled the curtain open again and again, getting themselves and the floor soaked, and whining non-stop, which resulted in the fastest showers ever (but at least I was cleaner than I was 180 seconds before)!

Today, they each came up a couple times to check on me, then went on with their play.  Let the happy shower dance commence!  I shaved my legs, and thought about washing my hair, but decided that would just be begging for a toddler crisis.  Don’t temp the gods, E!

It’s good to celebrate the little things, especially these little things!

A few nights ago, I slept in my own bed, with my husband, from 10:30 pm until 5 am. No one woke me up crying, or to pee, or because they wondered where I was.  On any given night, W or R has woken me by 3 am at the latest.  This night, I woke with a start at 4:30, wondering why I was still comfy in my very own bed instead of cramped on an uncomfortable futon with toddler arms and legs sprawled across me.  I tried to relax and get back to sleep, but I couldn’t shake the feeling that aliens had abducted my kids (what other reason could there be?). I crept into their room at 5 to find them sleeping soundly, and crawled into bed with them to save myself the trouble of further worry.

Seven lovely hours of uninterrupted sleep. An afternoon shower. A BM without someone hanging on me. I could get used to this . . . Eventually.

All you moms and dads of of two under 2, hold strong!  You’ll get there!  Anyone with me?  Do you remember when it suddenly seemed easier? When was that for you?  Planning two under two?  Be brave, strong one, its worth it.

Leave a Reply

